Logan boys win middle school Mingo Relays, girls take second

LOGAN — After being postponed more than two weeks earlier due to cold weather, 10 different schools were finally able to participate in the Logan-Hocking Middle School Mingo Relays Monday evening in Logan Chieftain Stadium.

Host Logan (108 points) held serve in winning the boys championship, edging Lancaster Thomas Ewing (106) in the final event to claim the title. They were followed by Zane Trace (68.5), Sheridan (53.5), Philo (44), Trimble (43.5), Reedsville Eastern (30.5), Athens (21), Ohio School for the Deaf (13) and Harvest Prep (3).

Ewing did win the girls crown, however, scoring 102 points to slip past the host Lady Chiefs (96) by six points. Other team scores were Athens (70), Philo (56), Eastern (41.5), Zane Trace (34.5), Sheridan (32), Trimble (19), Harvest Prep (17) and Ohio School for the Deaf (2).

The Logan boys won eight of 13 events. Field event winners were determined by adding the heights/distances of two-athlete teams.

Ethan Long, Gabe Rosado, Conner Stimmel and Joshua Franco won the distance medley relay (12:45.56), Austin Thrapp, Brandon Mingus, Colton Ruff and Casey Leach claimed the 4×110 shuttle hurdles (1:15.97), Rosado, Leach, Taylor Blazer and Justin Snyder took the sprint medley (1:48.46), Stimmel, Mingus, Conner Ruff and Franco won the distance medley (7:09.92), Leach, Snyder, Taylor Blazer and Joshua Blazer won the 4×100 (50.35 seconds), Long, Izak Bukky, Stimmel and Franco triumphed in the 4×800 (10:20.23), Joshua Blazer, Long, Rosado and Snyder took the 4×400 (3:59.52) and Joshua Blazer (5-4) and Charles Prader (5-0) won the high jump.

Carson Miller (39 feet, three inches) and Jonathan Corbitt (32-8) were second in the shot put and Colt Hull (7-6) and Henry Pierce (7-6) placed second in the pole vault, with Conner Ruff (7-6) individually finishing second as well.

Colton Ruff, Pierce, Conner Ruff and Conner Perry were third in the 4×200 (1:54.26), Pierce (14-8) and Perry (14-7) were third in the long jump, and Justin Hurst (97-0) was able to finish seventh despite being Logan’s only entrant in the discus relay.

The Lady Chiefs had four first-place finishes.

Amanda Chandler, Abby Burggraf, Josie VanBibber and Emma Myers claimed the 4×100 shuttle hurdles (1:17.02), Myers, Chandler, Chloe Wickman and Ammryn Roberts took the sprint medley (2:05.69), Wickman, Jenna Wilson, Grace Smith and Roberts earned a win in the 4×200 (2:02.85) and Carsyn Lawrence (4-4½) and McKenzie Maynard (4-4) took the high jump.

Myers (8-6), the lone Logan entrant in the pole vault, scored eight points for second place.

Keely Fickel, Gracie Swope, Avery Thompson and Maya Burggraf were runner-up in the distance medley (14:45.99), Joscelyn Heller, Sydnee Breining, Wilson and Roberts finished second in the 4×100 (58.07) and Thompson, Fickel, Shylynn McKnight and Maya Burggraf took second in the 4×800 (11:47).

Finishing third were Fickel, Swope, Larryn Nye and McKnight in the middle distance medley (8:28.86) and Heller (29-5) and Cheyenne Bourne (26-0½) in the shot put.

Thompson, Rahegan Webb, Swope and Maya Burggraf were fourth in the 4×400 (5:10.09) while Heller (68-3) and Carmen Shuttleworth (57-3) were fifth in the discus.

Julianna Sanders, Madison Norman, Gracie Garren and Madison Turner were sixth in the middle distance medley (9:18.77), Maisey Russell (10-8) and Dreena Wiseman (10-8) placed sixth in the long jump, and Isabelle Berry, Nicole Dicken, Addison Decot and Abby Bias finished seventh in the 4×400 (5:34.87).

Logan boys win middle school Mingo Relays, girls take second

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)





SG Mission: to serve our viewers by providing reliable, valuable, and important Deaf community oriented information in every newcast.