LEGISLATIVE TIP: Our Three Government Branches

Learn more about our three government branches. #TipTuesday #NADLegislativeTip

[VIDEO DESC & TRANSCRIPT: Kim is standing in the NAD Headquarters lobby. The NAD logo is at the upper right corner.

“LEGISLATIVE TIPS” appears in white text inside a blue border box, “WITH KIM” is a transparent text inside a small white box.

KIM: State and Federal Governments have three branches. The first is the Legislative branch, the second is the Executive branch, and the third is the Judicial branch.

A freeze frame of Kim pointing to her thumb in pixelated blue overlay and gray background. Below Kim’s hands are black text “3 BRANCHES” in white banner.

KIM: The Legislative Branch passes laws and sets the budget. The Executive Branch enforces the laws that were passed and sets programs and services to spend the money in the budget. The Judicial Branch oversees the court systems which interprets the laws, determining if people or the government broke any laws. If I want to file a lawsuit, first, we need to see if there is a law that I can use in court. If there is no law, it is possible that I need to go to the Legislative Branch to propose a new bill to become into law.

A freeze frame of Kim with ‘go ahead’ sign in pixelated blue overlay and gray background. Below Kim’s hands are black text “MEET YOUR LEGISLATOR TODAY” in white banner. Video cuts to grey background with the NAD logo quickly changing in different bright colors from teal to white to black to hot pink to green to orange to teal to yellow to purple to finally the official NAD logo with copyright text underneath “The National Association of the Deaf (c) 2019 All Rights Reserved”.]

(Visited 30 times, 1 visits today)